WWW #17

WWW hosted by Taking on a World of Words is a weekly meme with a great community of bloggers participating.

WWW tackles 3 questions:

What are you reading?
What have you finished?
What will you read next?


What-I-Am-Reading-(PINK)

I picked this up because: I had received it via NetGalley, but failed to review it in a timely manner.

First published: 25 Feb 2016

Goodreads rating: 4.18 (73,534 ratings)

Other Thoughts: For not being a fan of Fangirl, I am suprisingly in love with Carry On. (40% completed)

I picked this up because: I was intrigued by the classism, likely due to having read quite a few good books with the theme lately. Yay for NetGalley.

First published: 25 Aug 2016

Goodreads rating: 3.50 (101 ratings)

Other Thoughts: Kind of a meh start, but we will see. (8% completed)


What-I-Finished-(PINK)

I was ready for the ending. Great series, but there was less urgency in this third book which meant less appreciation for Trice’s “Act now, think later” tendencies.

I was not a fan of this one. I’m not the right demographic, perhaps? It was a bit too “first timey” crossed between “I will do anything for your adoration” and add in some dorkiness. I’m good with nerdiness, awkwardness, and other oddities, but fangirlness doesnt do anything for me.

Of the few retellings I’ve read, this is the first I didn’t enjoy as a story. Don’t get me wrong, it is absolutely brilliant how Meyer fit everything together with the original book, but the emotional aspect of the book was messy, rushed, and unappealing.

You know exactly what the ending will be, but there is that seed of doubt. Then it blooms. Wonderful book, with Karin Slaughter-esque characters (think Sharp Objects) and a great scavenger hunt mystery. Only one complaint, but it’s minor. (The main characters act a very different age then they actually are.) BTW, this was released yesterday, thank you NetGalley!


 What-Is-Next--(PINK)

Hmm… I guess we will find out.


xxertz (is secretly a dinosaur)

Let’s Be Friends

Follow me on goodreadsFollow Me on Twitter
14 thoughts on “WWW #17

  1. I did not like Allegiant as much as the other books in that series, I loved the first two books! I was slightly disappointed in Heartless too because I was expecting a retelling but it’s actually a prequel, it was okay but didn’t reach my expectations!

    Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad to hear you are enjoying Carry On! I love Simon and Baz… And a shame about Heartless; I haven’t read it yet myself and I’m a bit afraid of the hype around it to be honest. I hope you will enjoy your books this week and happy reading! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I have yet to finish Allegiant, unfortunately. I got stuck in the middle and just never finished. Which is kind of too bad since I hate to do that and I want to see how it ends, even though I’ve heard very mixed thnigs. One of these days I’ll make myself finish it.

    Fangirl I liked but haven’t read the followup.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

