New Year Resolutions, here I come.

I’ve seen quite a few posts wrapping up 2016 resolutions and establishing 2017 resolutions. I initially thought this was a bit silly, which is largely part of my upbringing and fear of establishing goals and, in time, failing said goals. But, you know what? I’m ready. Bring it on 2017.


My goals:

Blogging:

  • Review more (30%+ of the books I read for fun, 100% of ARCs)
  • Post twice a week at minimum by the end of the year
  • Comment more on friends’ blogs (my easy goal, y’all are interesting!, 5+ comments per day)
  • Get organized
  • Initiate weekly post of my own, biweekly for Celiac and Step Mama
  • Be more open
  • Update weekly meme list at least twice a year as many are now outdated πŸ€”πŸ™
  • Sign up for challenges AND participate with events and links relating to the challenge on the host’s website

Personal:

  • Continue rocking the gym (3+ days a week)
  • Take nightly walks, at the same time each night, so the boy can choose to go or not
  • Utilize my planner
  • Meal plan!
  • Listen more / be more present
  • Make them babies (okay, okay, lets start with making just one 😏)
  • Buy/make presents BEFORE birthday/holiday/etc.
  • Set up Christmas fund (it helps the bf spend less and feel better)
  • Read a minimum ofΒ 4 books/month: 1 NetGalley/Edelweiss, 1 Goodreads First Reads, 1 from project Reading Through the Decades, 1 personal choice
  • (Reading Through the Decades: reading one book from each decade from 1900 to today. I hope to do this personal challenge each year, but we will see how that goes)
  • Take 15 minutes a day to tidy up or clean
  • Get your makeup on and hair done each day – you’ll feel better!
  • Take family photos

Professional:

  • Learn to be more respectful when expressing differences in opinions (aka, stop, think, then react instead of simply reacting)
  • Minimize the gossip
  • (I should write “Volunteer more” here but I reeeeally don’t want to.)
  • Learn how to effective teach/mentor/otherwise share my knowledge
  • Stop villianizing the OMs (it’s not their fault they aren’t particularly helpful and it’s not healthy to hold a negative obsession)

Phew! Feels good to get those off my chest. I’m sure I will be adding on more as the year goes. My ultimate goal here is to be realistic. Guess we will see how that works out. πŸ˜πŸ˜‡πŸ˜œ

If you’ve set up your goals, please share (and/or share your link if they’re posted). It’s inspiring reading what others have in place.

17 thoughts on “New Year Resolutions, here I come.

  1. Good luck with your goals! I’m not setting any for the year except for the reading challenges. I want to see what the year brings me with a fresh mind free of pressure πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck with your goals!! I decided to do some reading challenges this year after skipping them all in 2016, so we’ll see how that goes! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t shared goals that much on my blog, but I do have some, of course. One is to finish my MA in English so I can start my MA in teaching πŸ˜€ And to listen better… I sometimes kind of check out if I’m distracted, and that’s not very nice.
    Good luck with your goals, Christine. Have a fabulous week and happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

