A Week In Review #17, WWW #13

WWW hosted by Taking on a World of Words is a weekly meme with a great community of bloggers participating.

WWW tackles 3 questions:

What are you reading?
What have you finished?
What will you read next?


What-I-Am-Reading-(PINK)

Revolution's End: The Patty Hearst Kidnapping, Mind Control, and the Secret History of Donald DeFreeze and the SLA by Brad Schreiber

Memoir of a Doctor

Thoughts: It is interesting so far, but has a tendency to make statements assuming you know something and follows it up with the explanation. It’s a confusing set up for someone who didn’t live through it.

I picked this up because: I am a sucker for doctor memoirs and it was immediately available on NetGalley (Can you say insta-gratification?) Also, I love the cover.

First published: 15 Sep 2015

Goodreads rating: 1.00 (only 1 rating, and it’s not mine btw)

Come as You Are: The Surprising New Science that Will Transform Your Sex Life by Nagoski, Emily

No progress this week – no school this week = no privacy this week.


Β What-I-Finished-(PINK)

Voice Behind the Mask by George LahoudI decided to DNF the Voice Behind the Mask by George Lahoud, MD. I can’t recommend this book, in general, due to the excessive use of exclamation points, but I had other annoyances with this book too. He would continuously make dumb decisions and wonder why other people were upset with them. He would also defy protocol in order to boost his ego, which generally worked out well, but it hard for me to read without getting anxious. I stopped reading after he made comments about two different people essentially stating that he wasn’t surprised they committed suicide given his dislike for their lifestyles. I also found in peculiar that someone who suffered from racism introduced new people to the reader by their race. Needless to say, this is rated: skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_darkskull_and_darkskull_and_dark

1984 by George OrwellI finished 1984 by George Orwell and I have to say that I wasn’t too impressed. My final thoughts were something along the line of “Oh crap, I hope the boy doesn’t read this in school. He’s reeeeeally going to hate reading then.” I found the romantic interest portion of this story to be entertaining, but wasn’t thrilled for the rest. I found the history book he receives to be drawn out and monotonous (easily the worst part of the book), and wasn’t too thrilled with the rest. skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_darkskull_and_dark

Five Children and It (Five Children #1) by E. Nesbit

I read Five Children and It by E. Nesbit as part of my goal to read at least one book from each decade from 1900 forward. This book was first published in 1902 and, if you know me, I tend to have a hard time engaging in older books. Overall, this book was okay and I can sense its timelessness, but I became bored before the end. The plot follows five children who find a being who grants them wishes, yet the wishes don’t turn out as desirous as they initially thought. It is a classic “watch what you wish for” and “appreciate life as it is” tale, but I found myself becoming bored after wish three. skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_darkskull_and_dark

The Girl Before by J.P. DelaneyThe Girl Before by JP Delaney was a bit of an obsession for me. It is the first book I read on my new iPad and it consumed all of my time until I was done. (I even bought the boy a game so he could be distracted while I read – too bad he wanted to play with me. I know, total mom fail.) As I wish everyone would, I ignored the suggestion that this would be the next Gone Girl and jumped in. I haven’t figured out how to put my thoughts into words yet, but I enjoyed the book and understand both the hype and the dislike for this book. For me, it was a perfect combination of knowing where the story was going and appreciating the two presents as they came. skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_dark


Β What-Is-Next--(PINK)

I picked up The Gift by Louise Jensen because of fellow WWWers. I saw a lot of you reading (and enjoying) it and decided I had to read it too. It’s also time to read netgalley’s I Liked My Life by Abby Fabiaschi, which is to be released late January. My last goal is to read The Vault of Dreamers by Caragh M. O’Brien. This caught my eye on the Giveaway Firstread’s list and my library approved my request to add it to their Overdrive collection.


Looks like a great week for me, I hope you are all as lucky as I am.

xxertz (is secretly a dinosaur)

Let’s Be Friends

Follow Me on BlogLovin'Follow me on goodreadsFollow Me on Twitter
22 thoughts on “A Week In Review #17, WWW #13

    • Is it weird for you to read older books like A Christmas Carol? I love that one particularly because of its story and the variations of it, but I have only seen it, not read it.

      A List of Cages looks intriguing. I know this is going to sound stupid but most the books I read are from female perspectives. It’s nice to have the switch into the male perspective. I hope you enjoy, I can’t wait to see your thoughts on it. πŸ™‚ ❀

      Like

  1. A shame you didn’t enjoy 1984, but you made me want to get a copy of The Girl Before ASAP now! My request wasn’t approved, but I will probably get a copy of it some time next year. And I hope you will enjoy The Gift as much as I did! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Revolution’s end looks good, I don’t know much about that whole turn of events but I’m curious. And The Girl Before I’ve seen once or twice and it looks good as well.

    The Vault of dreamers looks great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right? I only really knew about the Hearst kidnapping through the Wikipedia wormhole and had a general, but disconnected curiosity. I don’t know 100% about the concepts in the book, but it talks a lot about how the instance built and how the CIA and California law enforcement played a large part in disrupting and aggravating the Black community.

      As for the Vault of Dreamers, I can’t wait to devour it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

