A Week In Review #15, WWW #11

WWW hosted by Taking on a World of Words is a weekly meme with a great community of bloggers participating.

WWW tackles 3 questions:

What are you reading?
What have you finished?
What will you read next?


What-I-Am-Reading-(PINK)

1984 by George Orwell

1984… Do I need to explain?

Thoughts: I have mixed feelings on this one. This book started slow, picked up for a bit, and has continued tediously. Right now I am at the part where he is reading through the underground history book and it is PAINFUL. I skipped a good portion, although, if I’m being honest, this may be because I’m listening to the audiobook rather than reading it straight.

I picked this up because: it was available at the library and on my TB(re)R list.

First published: 08 Jun 1949

Goodreads rating: 4.13

Come as You Are: The Surprising New Science that Will Transform Your Sex Life by Nagoski, Emily

Nonfiction self help book regarding (you guessed it) sex.

Thoughts: I’ve decided that this is my Friday book so, every nonworking Friday, I pick this book up during my hubby’s weekly out-of-the-house time. This is mostly because these types of books completely embarrass me, even around him, but it is also because of a fear of him having some macho-weird out over the subject. All potential drama aside, this is a pretty darn good book so far.

I picked this up because: I won it through Goodreads First Reads program and it was a nominee for 2015’s Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Science & Technology.

First published: 03 Mar 2015

Goodreads rating: 4.23

 Voice Behind the Mask by George Lahoud

Memoir of a Doctor

Thoughts: Holy Exclamation Points! I stalled on this book due to the excessive use of exclamation points, but am determined to finish reading. I find doctors’ lives interesting, although I am off put by this doctor’s reoccurring behavior (having affairs with married women, yet being turned off when they are also cheating on him; deciding to tackle life-and-death situations alone simple to boost his ego/prove himself; fixing self-caused problems selfishly and thoughtlessly).

I picked this up because: I am a sucker for doctor memoirs and it was immediately available on NetGalley (Can you say insta-gratification?) Also, I love the cover.

First published: 15 Sep 2015

Goodreads rating: 0.00


 What-I-Finished-(PINK)

Every Day (Every Day, #1) by David Levithan

YA novel about a being who wakes up in a different human host each day, which isn’t a problem until they fall in love

Thoughts: I really enjoyed this book. I didn’t feel like it had a strong ending – it was enough for me to be patient for the following book (if it happens), but not enough for me to feel full closure – but it was cute and I enjoyed the vulnerability of the characters.

I picked this up because… a good friend gave it to me for my birthday.

First published: 03 Jan 2012

Goodreads rating: 4.00

My rating: skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_dark

 

Behind CLosed Doors by B A Paris

The next Gone Girl. (Just kidding…) A Then/Now tale of a seemingly perfect couple.

Thoughts: I wasn’t entirely stoked about this book, but it proved me wrong about what I am afraid of in a story. I previously believed that only paranormal beings scared me. Now I know better. It’s no secret that the relationship in this book is built on false pretenses, but the helplessness of the situation is truly terrifying.

I picked this up because… I’ve seen it around the blogs and it was a nominee for 2016’s Goodreads Choice Award for Mystery & Thriller & for Debut Goodreads Author

First published: 15 Feb 2011

Goodreads rating: 3.96

My rating: skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_dark


 What-Is-Next--(PINK)

I have quite a list running – funny how quickly that happens. My current “next on the list” books are The Girl Before by JP Delaney (NetGalley), Revolution’s End: The Patty Hearst Kidnapping, Mind Control, and the Secret History of Donald DeFreeze and the SLA (Goodreads First Reads), and Five Children and It. Have you read any of these? Any advice (for any book)?


Yay for having steady internet again.

xxertz (is secretly a dinosaur)

Let’s Be Friends

Follow Me on BlogLovin'Follow me on goodreadsFollow Me on Twitter
29 thoughts on “A Week In Review #15, WWW #11

    • It was hard for me to want to reread books that were mandatory in school, but I started with To Kill a Mockingbird, which was really good, and figured “why not?”.

      Happy to hear you enjoyed Behind Closed Doors. Hope we have as much luck with The Girl Before. 🙂

      Happy Reading <3!

      Like

  1. I hope 1984 will get better for you! It was one of my favorite classics back in high school… And I have heard great things about The Girl Before; I hope you will enjoy it along with your other books. Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always say 1984 would be a much better book if they cut the whole section where Winston is just reading the underground history book. “The proles this…blah blah… the proles that… blah blah blah SNORE!” I can only say that once you get past that bit it all picks up again and the ending is devastating.

    You got a copy of The Girl Before! I read the teaser but didn’t get a full copy. I really hope it’s good – looking forward to hearing what you think of it 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my WWW (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/12/14/www-wednesday-14th-december-2016/) and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read ‘1984’ some years back and like you, I had mixed feelings about it. It poses some interesting questions, but it’s so difficult to get into! Have you ever read ‘Brave New World’? I read that in college and I found that a little more interesting. I think the only dystopian text I truly enjoyed was ‘V for Vendetta’ by Alan Moore.

    Awesome book choices! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Underground History Book was really frustrating. I really enjoyed the rest of 1984, but I was skimming that part, too. I’m sure there could have been a better way to get all that theory in there, maybe just as an appendix or something? I did prefer 1984 to Animal Farm, though. I don’t know if you’ve read that one?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

