A Week In Review #14, WWW #10

WWW hosted by Taking on a World of Words is a weekly meme with a great community of bloggers participating.

WWW tackles 3 questions:

What are you reading?
What have you finished?
What will you read next?


What-I-Am-Reading-(PINK)

Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania by Erik Larson

Dead Wake is a nonfictional account about the sinking of the Lusitania.

Thoughts: I’m not sure if I’ll finish this anytime soon because I actually have complex work so I can’t listen and work at the same time for a while. Also.. it’s not my preferred genre, but I love the narrator.

I picked this up because: it received a Goodreads Award for 2015.

First published: 03 Mar 2015

Goodreads rating: 4.06

Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

Short stories (ramblings) by Mindy Kaling

Thoughts: I REALLY need to start reading synopsis before I pick up books. I hate short stories and was totally confused when it came to her alternate realty ramble.

I picked this up because: it received a Goodreads Award for 2015.

First published: 15 Sep 2015

Goodreads rating: 3.90


 What-I-Finished-(PINK)

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer

This retelling of Cinderella centers around a robot mechanic and a distant future.

Thoughts: Wow. I actually read this synopsis and decided this book  didn’t interest me, but I kept seeing this book everywhere and wanted to see what the rave was about. This was a three star for me, but it greatly exceeded my expectations and I can’t wait to read book #2.

I picked this up because… of all the hype.

First published: 03 Jan 2012

Goodreads rating: 4.14

My rating: skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_dark

 

Desires of the Dead (The Body Finder, #2) by Kimerly Derting

Paranormal teen can sense the restless murdered and their killers, book #2. More focused on teen romance/drama than the murder mystery.

Thoughts: This was about what I expected for a second book. It can be read as a standalone. If you didn’t like the first book, you wont like the second. Only bad thing is that it is completely predictable.

I picked this up because… I enjoyed the first book and needed something steady.

First published: 15 Feb 2011

Goodreads rating: 4.08

My rating: skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_dark

 

All In (The Naturals #3) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Teen-aged criminal mind group attempts to solve complex murderer – some family drama ensues.

Plot: Thoughts: One part made me mad, but it was as expected. I was neither thrilled nor disappointed and will likely read the next in this series when it comes out.

I picked this up because… it was next in the series and, as with the book above, I needed something I knew I would like and/or feel neutral about.

First published: 03 Nov 2015

Goodreads rating: 4.47

My rating: skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_dark


 What-Is-Next--(PINK)

 I’ve been a bad girl and did not finish many ARCs prior to their publish date. Not sure what is next, but I need to kick my butt in gear.


Hope everyone is having an amazing week!

xxertz (is secretly a dinosaur)

Let’s Be Friends

Follow Me on BlogLovin'Follow Me on FacebookFollow me on goodreadsFollow Me on Twitter
5 thoughts on “A Week In Review #14, WWW #10

  1. I hope you’ll continue to enjoy The Lunar Chronicles! It was one of my favorite YA fantasy series last year. And I know exactly what you mean with Mindy Kalings ramblings haha; luckily I already knew they were going to be like short essays so they didn’t bother me that much. Small advice: if you didn’t particularly like Why Not Me?, definitely don’t pick up her other book because it isn’t nearly as funny…

    Like

Leave a Reply

