A Week In Review #13, WWW #9

Connecting A Week in Review with WWW hosted by Taking on a World of Words. It’s a fun meme with a great community of bloggers participating.

WWW tackles 3 questions:

What are you reading?
What have you finished?
What will you read next?


I missed last week! What a whirlwind week it was..

Okay.. so here it goes…

What-I-Am-Reading-(PINK)

 

 

The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera CassThe Elite (The Selection, #2) by Kiera Cass… YES, I am a total fangirl. I can see how she is starting to get a little bit whiny in the second book, but I’m also pretty certain this is going to be a complete guilty pleasure that can’t go wrong in my eyes. (Except for the love triangle.. I get that you can go so many places with this, but ugh.) We will see where this one takes me.

 

The Long Midnight Of Barney Thomson (Barney Thomson #1) by Douglas LindsayThe Legend of Barney Thomson by Douglas Lindsay is an interesting read. It’s about an unhappy barber who somehow gets crossed into a murder investigation? Okay, I’ll admit, I haven’t gotten very far in this book. All I have learned is his personality, which is… odd and frustrated. I chose this to fit the challenge of a book that is becoming a movie this year, but it may have to fall under the challenges of a great first line. I mean.. how can you argue with a first line of “Breasts.”?

 

Just Fall by Nina SadowskyJust Fall by Nina Sadowski has an interesting set up. This is not a linear read, rather, we are switching between “Now” and “Then”. It makes the book much more mysterious as our MC “Then” is a normal, sweet wife and “Now” is a cold-blooded killer who may or may not be a widow. I can’t wait for everything to tie together.

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

What-I-Finished-(PINK)

Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnesskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_dark Hidden Bodies (You, #2) by Caroline Kepnes; This one is a strange one. We are stuck with a total antihero as our MC. He’s not the cutesy fun type of antihero either – more like the kind to kill you if you annoy him antihero. This one was hard for me as I didn’t like the guy, but did appreciate the author sticking herself out there to have a MC like this. It ends well too, surprisingly. (Netgalley ARC)

Freaky Friday (Andrews Family #1) by Mary Rodgers, Susannah Fellowsskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_dark Freaky Friday by Mary Rodgers; Freaky Friday is about a teenager who wakes up in her mother’s body and, while believing she is now free to do as she wishes, soon finds out that being an adult is not all that it is cracked up to be.

After I was finished pouting that the book was not like the movie, I enjoyed that this was a kids book with some sort of moral. I definitely couldn’t get over the dated audiobook (sorry!) and I don’t think I would try to read this again.

 

When by Victoria Laurieskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflv When by Victoria Laurie; I loved this book. MC sees a person’s death date across their forehead and, as a side business in order to keep their family afloat (ahem.. pay for her mother’s alcoholism), reads people their (or a loved one’s) death date for money. Things turn complicated when a serial killer stalks the MC’s hometown, causing the FBI to look towards her and questions whether she is involved.

 

X (Kinsey Millhone #24) by Sue Graftonskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_dark X (Kinsey Millhone, #24) by Sue Grafton; X is the 24th book in the Alphabet Series and happens to fit the challenge of “first book I see in a bookstore”.

X follows Detective Millhone as she chases down a client who wronged her, takes on a recently deceased coworker’s mysterious case, and is sufficiently annoyed by her new neighbors.

To give credit, everything wrapped up very nicely. My problem was that there was little to no action.

 

The Selection by Kiera Cassskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_dark The Election (The Selection, #1) by Kiera Cass; Let’s be honest, the only reason this isn’t a 5 star is because of what they pulled with the love triangle.

The Election is a YA version of The Bachelor with castles and a dystopian world aspect. The Bachelor is a huge guilty pleasure of mine (in fact.. I’m watching it right now.. Shh..) and it may have a part of why I enjoyed this book. The POV is only from one girl though, which is a shame.

 

 


 

 

What-Is-Next--(PINK)

 

My Holiday in North Korea: The Funniest/Worst Place on Earth by Wendy E. Simmons

I’m so excited that my next ARC is My Holiday in North Korea by Wendy E Simmons. Plot (per goodreads): “Through poignant, laugh-out-loud essays and 92 color photographs of North Korea rarely published, Wendy chronicles one of the strangest vacations ever. Along the way, she bares all while undergoing an inner journey as convoluted as the country itself.

 

 

 


 

Hope everyone is having an amazing week!

xxertz (is secretly a dinosaur)

 

Let’s Be Friends

Follow Me on BlogLovin'Follow Me on FacebookFollow me on goodreadsFollow Me on Twitter
12 thoughts on “A Week In Review #13, WWW #9

  1. My Holiday in North Korea looks really interesting. It’s so weird how little we know about what happens in that country. I hope in my lifetime to see rights restored to the citizens. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

