America (The Book) by Jon Stewart

First Published: 18 May 2004
Format:
Audiobook
Genre:
Nonfiction, Satire, History
Rating: skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_darkskull_and_dark
Find this book on goodreads

706

In-Ten-Words-or-Less

So-so satire in textbook format; avoid audiobook, try physical instead

Plot

In America (The Book), Jon Stewart and The Daily Show writing staff offer their insights into our unique system of government, dissecting its institutions, explaining its history and processes, and exploring the reasons why concepts like one man, one vote, government by the people, and every vote counts have become such popular urban myths. Topics include: Ancient Rome: The First Republicans; The Founding Fathers: Young, Gifted, and White; The Media: Can it Be Stopped?; and more!

I-Picked-This-Up-BEcause.gif

…it’s Jon Stewart and a satirical history book – such a beautiful (and promising) combination.

The-Good

This book made me smile. I appreciate the alternative view on history and I was happy that the narrators were the well-known individuals from The Daily Show.

The-Bad

The audiobook only comes in abridged format. In hindsight, Iโ€™m not sure this really matters towards my opinion of the book, but itโ€™s always a disappointment when you cannot get a full copy of a book via audiobook.

Another reason why audiobook form fails the reader is that a lot of the humor found in the format of the physical book has no way of translating to audio. From what I hear, the physical book is formatted like a textbook. In itself, this would easily add a star to my rating. Textbook formatting does not cross over well to audiobook – even with well known narrators..

OverallI may pick up physical book someday and think this would be a good gift for my sibling, but I strongly advise against listening to the audiobook version.

6 thoughts on “America (The Book) by Jon Stewart

  1. I don’t watch much TV at all and I haven’t had cable for years. I know who Jon Stewart is but I really haven’t seen much of his work. How disappointing that the audiobook was abridged! I don’t like any abridged books – I either want it all or nothing. Sorry this one was disappointing. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

