A Week In Review #12, WWW #8

Connecting A Week in Review with WWW hosted by Taking on a World of Words. It’s a fun meme with a great community of bloggers participating.

WWW tackles 3 questions:

What are you reading?
What have you finished?
What will you read next?


What-I-Am-Reading-(PINK)

Freaky Friday (Andrews Family #1) by Mary Rodgers, Susannah FellowsStarted Freaky Friday (Andrews Family, #1) last week. This book is aged – even in the way the audio is spoken. (It could also be that I’ve never read a book with a child narrator too.) I also expected it to be more like the movie, with a full switch of mom and daughter. Instead, the daughter is in the mom’s mind and “plays the part” by adopting the mom’s personality. The daughter retains the same personality.

For being a short book (~3 hours) it’s hard to get past the voice. (~50%?)

Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane

I also started Shutter Island because I wanted a break from Freaky Friday. Turns out I’m apathetic in general this week because this isn’t cutting it for me either. Interesting so far though. (~10%?)

What-I-Finished-(PINK)

Go Set a Watchman (To Kill a Mockingbird) by Harper Lee

Go Set A Watchman was as I was warned. It is a walk down memory lane for Scout, with some unexpected results. These unexpected results will cause you to completely rethink To Kill A Mockingbird. It actually diminishes the first book IMO.

skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_darkskull_and_dark

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Finally read The Girl on the Train and, quite frankly, have no idea why people compare this book to Gone Girl. I’m not savvy with the specifics of literature and technically being drunk can reduce unreliability, but this book didn’t provide the unreliable narrator I was hoping for. That said, it did provide multiple suspects to guess from.
skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_darkskull_and_dark

Ugly Love by Colleen HooverI couldn’t resist Ugly Love after reading a review on The Worn Bookmark. She said it’s a great Colleen Hoover book to read after November 9 and she was right! This was a great read, although I found that the main male was a little controlling. Beware of the ending because you will cry… Thankfully I didn’t finish it at work 😉
skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflv

Final Hour (Ashley Bell, #0.2) by Dean Koontz

Final Hour (Ashley Bell, #0.2) was an okay read. It wasn’t as good as the first novella, but did have a twist ending that I appreciated. Overall, I’m not a short story fan. If Koontz decides to write a book with the same lead character, I would eat it up.

skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_dark

What-Is-Next--(PINK)

 X (Kinsey Millhone #24) by Sue Grafton

I genuinely do not know what this book is about with the exception of knowing it is a murder mystery. This read falls under the challenge of “first book you see in a book store”.

 

 

 

 

Divider

I’m somehow busy this week, but hope to visit every one’s pages this weekend. Promise 🙂

Signature

Let’s Be Friends

Follow Me on BlogLovin'Follow Me on FacebookFollow me on goodreadsFollow Me on Twitter
16 thoughts on “A Week In Review #12, WWW #8

  1. Looks like the Freaky Friday movie is a lot more interesting then… And I have been doubting whether to get a copy of Go Set A Watchman for ages since so many people seem to be disappointed with it. I don’t want to ruin my memories of To Kill A Mockingbird. 😉 The Girl On The Train for me wasn’t worth the hype either although I enjoyed it slightly better than you did (maybe because I had such low expectations in the first place. And I’m looking forward to read Ugly Love soon!

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry you didn’t like ‘Go Set a Watchman.’ It’s hard to think of TKaM separately because the characters are similar in some ways but so different in others. I wish we could erase Watchman and get back the Atticus we love. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope you end up liking Shutter Island, that’s one I want to read…

    Sad to see you didn’t like Girl on the Train! I really Gone Girl (4 or 4.5 out of 5 for me), so the comparisons got it on my to-read list. I’ll probably still read it eventually but I’ll try not to compare them… maybe if I lower my expectations I won’t be so disappointed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

