Stacking the Shelves, #10

stsmall_thumb25255b225255d

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga where bloggers share their enthusiasm for the books they bought or received during the previous week.

 

Divider

Story Cartel Find:

I was one of those kids who always found the loopholes in order to justify my actions. I said “no netgalley, no edelweiss”. The only logical route was to long into Story Cartel who, if you’re unaware, is pretty much the same thing but less known.

Little Red Riding Hood: Werewolf Slayer (Merlin's Hoods #1) by Carl Waters

Little Red Riding Hood: Werewolf Slayer (Merlin’s Hoods, #1) by Carl Waters is listed as a paranormal urban fantasy adventure, where Giselle must quickly learn the powers behind the red cloak in order to save herself and her family. Picked this up because it fits my challenge of a fairy tale retelling, the plot sounds pretty bad-ass, and it has good reviews so far. First published: 03 Nov 2015. Goodreads rating: 4.37

 

 

Divider

Library Finds:

Many of my holds were approved this week. My library actually added books that I had requested a month ago to their Overdrive app. I am very shocked and impressed.

Freaky Friday (Andrews Family #1) by Mary Rodgers, Susannah FellowsFreaky Friday (Andrews Family, #1) by Mary Rodgers is a YA fiction novel where Annabel wakes up as her mother and is prepared to take full advantage of the freedom of being adult, or so she thought. Picked this up because it falls into a category or two of my 2016 challenges (book on the Rory Gilmore reading list, book I’ve seen the movie of, but have never read). Consequently, I will be able to finally post one of those cool movie vs. book reviews that I love reading so much. Woohoo. First published: 01 Jan 1972. Goodreads rating: 3.72

 

The Long Midnight Of Barney Thomson (Barney Thomson #1) by Douglas Lindsay

The Long Midnight of Barney Thomson (Barney Thomson, #1) by Douglas Lindsay is a murder mystery centered around Barney Thomson, an awkward and depressed barber who gets tossed into the world of a serial killer. Picked this up because it was one of the more interesting choices for the challenge item “book that is becoming a movie this year” (hence the book title looking different/with a different name). I chose this before I read reviews to Patrick Ness’Β A Monster Calls. First published: 02 Dec 2003. Goodreads rating: 3.65

When by Victoria LaurieWhen by Victoria Laurie is a YA mystery. Maddie sees death dates floating above the foreheads of every person she encounters and is soon brought in to help with a missing persons case that may flip her world around. Picked this up because I read about it on Betwixt-These-Pages’ blog and couldn’t resist. First published: 13 Jan 2015. Goodreads rating: 4.11

The Green Road by Anne EnrightThe Green Road by Anne Enright is a historical fiction spanning 30 years and 3 continents and centered around Rosaleen and her four children. Picked this up because I apparently was recommended to read this book at one point or another? I’m guessing I saw it on a blog and thought “Oo, technically, they recommended this to all of their readers therefore it fits my challenge of a book recommended to you by someone you just met!” See the above statement on loopholes. ;). Apologies to whoever wrote or recommended it to me. I have a terrible memory for these sorts of things, but thank you! First published: 04 May 2015. Goodreads rating: 3.51

All the Bright Places by Jennifer NivenAll the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven is a YA contemporary/romance “about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die”. Picked this up because my original goal for this year was to read all of the 2015 goodreads Choice Winners. If I had known what this book was about, I’m not sure I would have picked it up due to the emotions that are bound to come with it. Have heard good things from those I follow πŸ™‚ First published: 06 Jan 2015. Goodreads rating: 4.20

All In (The Naturals #3) by Jennifer Lynn BarnesAll In (The Naturals, #3) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes is a YA mystery/thriller novel that is, essentially, a YA version of the TV Show Criminal Minds. Picked this up because the previous book set this one up to be exactly what I was hoping from this series. Also, you know, Criminal Minds is an addiction. First published: 03 Nov 2015. Goodreads rating: 4.48

 

Ugly Love by Colleen HooverUgly Love by Colleen Hoover is a New Adult, Romance novel about two people who attempt to embrace their attraction through a purely sexual relationship, but soon find out that “just sex” is more complicated that they thought. Picked this up because I read about it on The Worn Bookmark and couldn’t resist.Β Seriously Maren, your post went live on 16 Feb and I’ve already devoured this. Thank you <3! First published: 05 Aug 2014. Goodreads rating: 4.33, My Rating: skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkΒ 

 

 

Divider

Whew. I think that’s it.

I can’t wait to see what books you guys have picked up this week!

Signature

 

Follow Me on BlogLovin'Follow Me on FacebookFollow me on goodreadsFollow Me on Twitter
18 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves, #10

  1. Just curious, but why do you say no to netgalley and edelweiss? I always thought edelweiss their site was confusing, so I stay away from it and I love netgalley enough to get more than enough books from there and don’t need another site adding to my book addiction. I have heard from storycartel, but haven’t gotten any books from them. I might have to check out their site once. You got a ncie library haul this week and I hope you’ll enjoy all your new books!

    Like

    • It’s a temporary no because I’m trying to keep my head about 80% on both sites (even though edelweiss has no incentive). I love both sites.

      Edelweiss is very confusing.. but it looks like they are going into beta testing soon for a much more user friendly site (woohoo).

      Story Cartel has a much smaller selection, but I have enjoyed the previous book I received from them.

      Hope you have a wonderful week πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I didn’t know the Freaky Friday movie was based on a book! I remember watching it when I was a teen… I have When and Ugly Love on my TBR pile as well, and I’m actually planning on picking up the Colleen Hoover book next month. Hopefully it’s as good as November 9! All The Bright Places is an interesting enough read, although I didn’t love it as much as others did… It’s quite a ‘heavy’ read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So far, the movie is a hell of a lot better IMO. The main idea is the same, but the path it takes is a little different.

      Ugly Love is a good book to pick up after November 9. I hope you do πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the warning on All The Bright Places!

      Happy Reading πŸ™‚ Hope you have a wonderful week.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I haven’t seen the movie in years, but I do remember enjoying it back then… A shame to hear the book isn’t as good.
        Happy reading and have a wonderful week as well! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

