Stacking the Shelves, #9

stsmall_thumb25255b225255d

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga where bloggers share their enthusiasm for the books they bought or received during the previous week.

 

This is a short and sweet post as I need to catch up on my list.

Divider

I picked up physical books again this week, but mostly because I picked up the wrong book in the series from last week.

1

Demon Glass (Hex Hall #2) by Rachel Hawkins.
Genre: YA, Fantasy.
Release Date: 02 Mar 2011.

I picked this up because… I adored Hex Hall, the first book in the series.

Plot: “Sophie Mercer thought she was a witch. That was the whole reason she was sent to Hex Hall, a reform school for delinquent Prodigium (a.k.a. witches, shape-shifters, and faeries). But then she discovered the family secret, and the fact that her hot crush, Archer Cross, is an agent for The Eye, a group bent on wiping Prodigium off the face of the earth.

Turns out, Sophie’s a demon, one of only two in the world-the other being her father. What’s worse, she has powers that threaten the lives of everyone she loves. Which is precisely why Sophie decides she must go to London for the Removal, a dangerous procedure that will either destroy her powers for good-or kill her.

But once Sophie arrives, she makes a shocking discovery. Her new housemates? They’re demons too. Meaning, someone is raising demons in secret, with creepy plans to use their powers, and probably not for good. Meanwhile, The Eye is set on hunting Sophie down, and they’re using Archer to do it. But it’s not like she has feelings for him anymore. Does she?”

Divider

Killer Instinct (The Naturals #2) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes.
Genre: Mystery, YA.
Release Date: 04 Nov 2014.

I picked this up because… I adored The Naturals, the first book in the series.

Plot: Seventeen-year-old Cassie Hobbes has a gift for profiling people. Her talent has landed her a spot in an elite FBI program for teens with innate crime-solving abilities, and into some harrowing situations. After barely escaping a confrontation with an unbalanced killer obsessed with her mother’s murder, Cassie hopes she and the rest of the team can stick to solving cold cases from a distance.

But when victims of a brutal new serial killer start turning up, the Naturals are pulled into an active case that strikes too close to home: the killer is a perfect copycat of Dean’s incarcerated father—a man he’d do anything to forget. Forced deeper into a murderer’s psyche than ever before, will the Naturals be able to outsmart the enigmatic killer’s brutal mind games before this copycat twists them into his web for good?”

Divider

I can’t wait to see what you guys have picked up this week. 🙂

Signature

 

Let’s Be Friends

Follow Me on BlogLovin'Follow Me on FacebookFollow me on goodreadsFollow Me on Twitter
38 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves, #9

    • I’m usually stuck with the second in the series because I don’t know better (D’oh! moments), but I’m happy to say it was on purpose this time. Hex Hall is definitely a continuation, but it’ll be interesting to see whether Killer Instinct builds off the first book or if it can be taken as a standalone. Hope you have a great week!

      Like

  1. I’ve bought the following on my Kindle. All were recommended by other readers. Dawn of Wonder, The Awakening book 1 by Jonathan Renshaw, The Shadow, by Sylvain Reynard, The Love that Split the World, by Emily Henry, Soundless by Richelle Meade.
    I’ve read and reviewed this week: Eye Dancers and The Court of Thorns and Roses.
    I’m currently reading, Dawn of Wonder (excellent and Finalist for the Writers’ Digest Award) I’ve haven’t read the Hex Hall series. I’ll check it out! Happy reading everyone :o)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember seeing The Naturals and liking the premise, but I never did read it. Thanks for reminding me, I need to add that one (and the new one)! Hope it’s good!

    Have a great week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, I loved the firsts. Unfortunately, Hex Hall #2 & #3 weren’t as good as I was hoping, but they made a satisfying end to the series (or.. I think it was the end?). It was nice that it took it away from the high school and that Mercer stayed essentially the same, but idk. Not sure what I expected. (Don’t get me wrong, I adore the series and would have picked the books up knowing that lol)

      We will see about Killer Instinct though 🙂

      Hope you have a wonderful week!

      Like

  3. I got two new books this week: Happily Ever After by Jen meyers and A Disguise to Die For by Diana Vallere. I have read the first hex hall book and I think I own the second one, but not sure. I have heard good things about The Naturals series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Lexxie! I can see why Hex Hall didn’t work for some. I sit there reading it and think “well, that was stupid”, but it’s a total guilty pleasure of mine. The second and third book aren’t as good as the first, but wrap up the series well.

      Hope you have a wonderful week and happy reading 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

