Stacking the Shelves, #7

stsmall_thumb25255b225255d

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga where bloggers share their enthusiasm for the books they bought or received during the previous week.

For whatever reasons, it looks like the host of this meme has lost interest in/is having things pop up that keep them from maintaining it for 2016. If you have any suggestions of similar type memes, please feel free to share.

 

Edelweiss

I’m not allowed to go on Edelweiss until I read and review what I have received from them. I try to follow the Netgalley ideal of keeping me accepted/reviewed ratio to 80%. 

Netgalley

I told myself that I am on a time-out from Netgalley until I finish the books I have not read/reviewed from them (I’m usually at a 90+%, or try to be). Well… That didn’t quite work out.

Divider


28233082The Girl in the Ice
by Robert Bryndza. Genre: Mystery, Thriller. Release Date: 12 Feb 2016

I picked this up because… Kelly’s WWW Wednesday post. Strong female lead + good suspense + who the heck is the killer? = bliss in a book. Also, I enjoy the cover.

Plot: Her eyes are wide open. Her lips parted as if to speak. Her dead body frozen in the ice…She is not the only one.

When a young boy discovers the body of a woman beneath a thick sheet of ice in a South London park, Detective Erika Foster is called in to lead the murder investigation.

The victim, a beautiful young socialite, appeared to have the perfect life. Yet when Erika begins to dig deeper, she starts to connect the dots between the murder and the killings of three prostitutes, all found strangled, hands bound and dumped in water around London.

What dark secrets is the girl in the ice hiding?”

Divider


Demon World by Angela YseultDemon World
 by Angela Yseult. Genre: YA, Fantasy. Release Date: 09 May 2014

I picked this up because… Mugglebooks’ Review of this book. Coincidentally, it is being archived in 2 days. Lucky me for getting it in time. 🙂

Plot: Vincent has always known his fathers’ secret: they are both vampires, escaped from a fighting camp where they were forced to combat the demons that come to Earth from another dimension through a portal.

He’s also known he was special, brought into the world by his mother’s magic at the cost of her life. It gives him the strength, speed and acute senses of vampires without their weaknesses, a combination unheard of.

And he’s known that both facts were to be kept secret at all cost, lest his fathers be sent back to fight an endless battle, or he be studied like a lab rat for the rest of his life.

So, during his junior year in high school, when he receives an anonymous text message that hints someone knows, he’s determined to figure out who it is and how to keep them quiet before his fathers find out and decide they should all run and hide. This task, however, might be easier if his best friend didn’t suddenly show a deep interest in vampires, demons and fighting camps… and if the girl he has a crush on didn’t distract him so much…”

Everything-Else


706America (The Book): A Citizen’s Guide to Democracy Inaction
 by by Jon Stewart, Ben Karlin, David Javerbaum, Rich Bloomquist, Steve Bodow, Tim Carvell, Eric Drysdale, J.R. Havlan , Scott Jacobson, Tom Johnson, Rob Kutner, Chris Regan, Jason Reich, Jason Ross, Stephen Colbert (Contributor), Samantha Bee (Contributor), Rob Corddry (Contributor), Brendan Hay (Contributor), Ed Helms. Genre: Nonfiction, Humor. Release Date: 18 May 2004.

I picked this up because… it fits into a few of my challenges. I can’t remember exactly which I am using it for, but it suits “a book written by a celebrity”, “a book written by a comedian”, and “a book by an author you feel you should have read by now”.

Plot: American-style democracy is the world’s most beloved form of government, which explains why so many other nations are eager for us to impose it on them. But what is American democracy? In America (The Book), Jon Stewart and The Daily Show writing staff offer their insights into our unique system of government, dissecting its institutions, explaining its history and processes, and exploring the reasons why concepts like one man, one vote, government by the people, and every vote counts have become such popular urban myths. Topics include: Ancient Rome: The First Republicans; The Founding Fathers: Young, Gifted, and White; The Media: Can it Be Stopped?; and more!

Divider

I can’t wait to see what you guys have picked up!

Signature

 

 Divider

Let’s Be Friends

24 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves, #7

    • Oh, I know. I’m being a total @ss about it when I shouldn’t be. I adore and appreciate the meme, but was frustrated with last week when there was no post and the blog went on with no mention of it not being posted. (Again, me being a jerk lol.) It makes me wonder about the politics lol. I hope they stick with it too or someone else picks it up 🙂

      Like

  1. I was reaching 80% on Netgalley last week, but there goes my resistance and I requested tons of books (approved – not sure if that’s a good thing) last week and my % dropped. There it goes! Luckily I was able to resist this week and hopefully to clear off some of the books off my TBR pile! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m pretty good at keeping my netgalley percentage around 87%, but I still keep requesting far too many books 🙂 They’re all books I really want to read, though, and I know I will, so I don’t feel bad about it.
    If you want another weekly wrap-up / new books meme, check out Braine @ Talk Supe Blog’s Bought Borrowed and Bagged, it’s similar, and she has a linky that works for the whole year.
    Have a wonderful week ahead and happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My biggest fear is that I will download and then not review prior to release (or worse) put them off too long for shinier, newer books. That’s awesome you can keep yours so high. How many books in total have you been approved? (Just being nosy 🙂 I am so low that even one book throws my percentage down. I’ll get higher someday 😉 )

      Thanks for the heads up about Bough Borrowed and Bagged!

      Hope you have an amazing week 🙂

      Like

    • Agreed! It’s so dangerous. I’m having a hard time with Edelweiss too because the books are offered so far in advance I’m like “Oh, i have time before I have to read this”. Let’s just say.. my October is going to be busy 😉 Thanks for the comment 😀

      Like

  3. I’ve put myself on a Netgalley and EW time out too LOL. It’s working really great so far! I’ve been able to read book from my shelves instead of review books. It takes the pressure off which is amazing!

    Have a great week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

