Stacking the Shelves, #6

stsmall_thumb25255b225255d

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga where bloggers share their enthusiasm for the books they bought or received during the previous week.

Edelweiss

I’m not allowed to go on Edelweiss until I read and review what I have received from them. I try to follow the Netgalley ideal of keeping me accepted/reviewed ratio to 80%.

Netgalley

No One Know by J.T. EllisonNo One Knows by J.T. Ellison. Genre: Mystery, Thriller. Release Date: 22 Mar 2016

I picked this up because… of a silly netgalley email that listed books “similar to” The Girl on the Train and promised to rock my world. (Correction: the email isn’t silly, it’s nice and strategic. I can’t claim the same of myself. 😉 ). The plot + the reference to a compelling mystery + a NYTimes Bestseller + me telling myself I’m not going on netgalley/edelweiss for any reason ever = downloading this book. (What is it about being told we can’t do something that makes us want to do it that much more?)

Plot: The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

Everything else

Shizzle, Inc. by Ana SpokeShizzle, Inc. by Ana Spoke Genre: Contemporary. Release Date: 4 Sep 2015.

I picked this up because… I follow Ana Spoke’s blog and enjoy her posts. I figure liking her blog posts is a good sign that I’ll like her book too, even though it’s out of my comfort genre.

Plot: Debt is always negative, no matter how positively you try to look at it. Fifteen minutes of fame is all Isa Maxwell needs to solve her financial woes and win back Brad, the love of her life. Trouble is she doesn’t have a talent needed to get discovered, become a celebrity, or “show Brad” what he’s missing. She doesn’t even have enough self-awareness to understand what is happening around her. What she does have, however, is determination and sheer luck. When Isa literally lands on her butt in a billionaire’s office, she also accidentally lands the job of her dreams. She soars up the corporate ladder and is offered opportunities to change the corporate marketing strategy and renegotiate a major merger. Not a small feat for someone who doesn’t know what “marketing strategy” or “merger” mean to begin with. Meanwhile, she seems to attract attention of new love interests – a hot cop, a mysterious neighbor, the billionaire himself, and even her best girl Tara. Life’s a dream. Until it turns into a nightmare. Can Isa survive the tough world of corporate intrigue and constant looming bodily harm? Or will her persistence cause the end of Shizzle, Inc and possibly her life?

The Chimera Vector (The Fifth Column #1) by Nathan FarrugiaThe Chimera Vector (The Fifth Column, #1) by Nathan M. Farrugia. Genre: Thriller, SciFi, Action. Release Date: 1 May 2012.

I picked this up because… Nathan M. Farrugia followed me on twitter. When I checked out his page, I saw an article he embedded on his front page that I couldn’t resist reading (I guess that’s the whole point in embedding it. Shh. I’m simple minded).

Holy crap. After reading that, I couldn’t resist the link for a free free book. (I know, I’m horrible, but I like free things from highly entertaining authors.)

Too honest? Annoying? You know what? That’s a rhetorical question. 🙂

Plot: The Fifth Column: the world’s most powerful and secretive organization. They run our militaries. They run our governments. They run our terrorist cells.

Recruited as a child, Sophia is a deniable operative for the Fifth Column. Like all operatives, Sophia’s DNA has been altered to augment her senses and her mind is splintered into programmed subsets.

On a routine mission in Iran something goes catastrophically wrong. Bugs are beginning to appear in Sophia’s programming and the mission spins out of control.

High-speed chases, gun fights, helicopter battles, immortal psychopaths, super soldiers and mutant abilities are all in the mix in this edge-of-your-seat action-packed techno-thriller.”

Final Hour (Ashley Bell, #0.2) by Dean KoontzFinal Hour (Ashley Bell # 0.2) by Dean Koontz. Genre: Thriller, Fiction, Horror, Novella. Release Date: 27 Oct 2015.

I picked this up because… I hate short stories and this one happens to be miscoded as a short story (rather than a novella) on goodreads so I figured I would cheat. Why read a short story if you hate them? It’s a requirement on a few challenges. 😉

Plot: Just by touching others, Makani Hisoka-O’Brien can see the darkest secrets they keep. The troubling talent has made the Southern California surfer wary of casual contact. But while impulsively saving a stranger from an accident, she experiences her most disturbing vision.

With only a good friend to help her, and mere traces of information to guide her, Makani must track down two mysterious women—one of them innocent, one not.

But Makani is stepping into the path of an adversary more dangerous than she can imagine: a brutal predator behind a pretty face, who won’t go down without drawing blood.”

 

I can’t wait to see what you guys are reading!

 Follow me on: bloglovin’, facebook, goodreads, or twitter

12 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves, #6

  1. I just read The Girl on the Train a couple of weeks ago and really liked it, so that email definitely gave me pause, too. I usually prefer to listen to mysteries on my commute than read them, though, so I’ll have to see if my library gets a copy of No One Knows. Great haul and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

