A Week in Review #6, WWW #2

I’m moving this to Wednesdays next week and connecting it to WWW hosted by Taking on a World of Words. I had some internet problems this week so it’s stuck on Friday again. 🙂

WWW tackles 3 questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What I’m reading

15839976I started Red Rising by Pierce Brown. I can’t describe the plot easily. Essentially, Darrow lives in a world where your color equals your status in society. Darrow (and his fellow colors) has/have been lied to and Darrow puts his life on the line to infiltrate the highest caste in order to bring the system down. (23%, meets challenge “The first book in a new to you series”)

27213216I’m continuing Killfile by Christopher Farnsworth (picked up from edelweiss). I’m a bit worried, but curious to see how this will go next. Killfile follows John Smith, a mind reader and controller. When his last job goes awry, he has to run in order to survive. (15%)

22314178I just started Touch by Claire North (Pseudonym) thanks to Bridget’s contribution on this week’s Top Ten Tuesday over at The Broke and The Bookish. Touch is about a being that uses bodies as hosts and can switch from body to body upon skin contact. I think its only deliberate contact, but don’t know yet. I am pretty bummed that the book doesn’t actually start with the plot synopsis on goodreads. The switching bodies concept is right, but the suggestion that the person only finds out after they are right about to be killed is a dirty lie. Either way, I enjoy the idea of being able to switch bodies and am looking forward to seeing where this book goes. On a side note, I absolutely changed bodies with a friend in a dream last night. Her boyfriend found out – awkward! (No, we weren’t doing anything inappropriate. We were shopping with her parents. Gotta love dreams.) (11%)

10818853Well, I think you all know (or should know) what 50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James is about. I’m listening to this at work and the narrator’s voice ends sentences in a hard-to-describe, sarcastic manner. I don’t know how I feel about it, but I’ll get used to it. (3%, meets challenge “A book that was mentioned in another book” PS, it was mentioned in Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter)

 

What I finished

Last Light by Dean Koontz

Last Light by Dean Koontz is the first prequel to Ashley Bell (#0.1). When I started it, I was excited because the bad guy in this book is explained in a way that makes sense to Ashely Bell. Or so I thought.. Turns out this bad guy is a different guy and this novella does nothing to explain Ashley Bell. Don’t get me wrong, it’s good as a standalone, but I was hoping for something that put more substance into Ashley Bell. (A novella from your favorite genre)

25111004November 9 by Colleen Hoover is the first Colleen Hoover book I have “read” and I love it to the point where I want to read everything she has ever written. November 9 follows two teenagers who agree to meet once a year for five years, despite being madly in love with each other, because the female doesn’t want to settle down until after she discovers herself. (A book with the name of a month in the title, A book everyone is talking about)

PrintI devoured Spoiler Alert: You’re Gonna Die by Korttany Finn and Jacquie Purcell. Spoiler Alert is a nonfiction Q&A book between Korttany Finn (author) and Jacquie Purcell (coroner). I’m not sure if it fits what I expected, but I’m pretty darn stoked about the information it gives out. (Meets challenge “A book with a blue cover”)

1217100Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher is a captivating read. It follows a teen after he receives seven cassette tapes from a dead girl – cassettes that describe the reasons why she killed herself. The thing that is strange to me about this book is that I have depression and I couldn’t connect with the girl who committed suicide. She blames everyone else for her problems instead of herself, which is how I’m familiar with depression. That said, I enjoyed this book and am happy I chose to “read” it as an audio book. (A book about mental illness)

 

What’s next

As much as I want to find my next murder mystery, I should probably finish the books I’m currently reading first. Well… As long as I stay away from NetGalley 😉 I guess we will find out next week. 😛

(Isn’t it awesome that NetGalley just set out a newsletter about Spring Fiction?)

 

 

 Follow me on: bloglovin’, goodreads, or twitter

 

3 thoughts on “A Week in Review #6, WWW #2

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one who was unable to connect to Thirteen Reasins Why. I thought it was a really poor story for a YA audience. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

