Top Ten Tuesday, #5

Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where each week bloggers are provided a different topic to write our a top ten list on. It’s a lot of fun to write and even more fun to visit others who have participated.

This week’s topic is Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t

In 2015, my reading goal was to become your statistical adult reader with an average of 12 books per year. Because of this goal, I soon discovered the 2015 Popsugar Reading Challenge. My life changed. (Ps. I read ~75 books in 2015)

While this is going on my second year of book adoration, I am still playing around with authors within the genres I like and even venturing out (who knew I would love YA so much?). This long winded intro to this post is my attempt in saying that, in 2015, I didn’t have much of a reason to actively seek out books released in 2015. Below are the three 2015 books that were released and put on my shelf in 2015 – although, I didn’t actually realize these were so new until researching for this week’s TTT.


The Girl on the Train by Paula HawkinsAfter I finished Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, I was craving another book with an unreliable narrator. A user from goodreads recommended The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. Originally, I rented the audiobook but the woman’s voice drove me nuts. (I realize now that I should have given myself more time to get used to her voice. It takes me a while to get used to new people/voices.) After returning the audiobook, I moved onto other books and The Girl on the Train became lost in my lovely TBR pile.

Plot per goodreads.com: Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?”


Go Set a Watchman (To Kill a Mockingbird) by Harper Lee

I re-read To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee last year and it blew me away. I hadn’t read the book since I read it as required reading back in school. While I knew I liked it then (which should have been a hint today about how relatable it is), I didn’t realize how much I would love it this time around. When I reached the end of the e-book, I saw an advertisement for Go Set A Watchmen. I’ve been waiting for it from the library when I really need to just buy it already.

Plot per goodreads.com: Maycomb, Alabama. Twenty-six-year-old Jean Louise Finch–“Scout”–returns home from New York City to visit her aging father, Atticus. Set against the backdrop of the civil rights tensions and political turmoil that were transforming the South, Jean Louise’s homecoming turns bittersweet when she learns disturbing truths about her close-knit family, the town and the people dearest to her. Memories from her childhood flood back, and her values and assumptions are thrown into doubt. Featuring many of the iconic characters from To Kill a Mockingbird, Go Set a Watchman perfectly captures a young woman, and a world, in a painful yet necessary transition out of the illusions of the past–a journey that can be guided only by one’s conscience.


Confess by Colleen Hoover

I’m not going to lie, I don’t actually know what Confess by Colleen Hoover is about. I wanted to read it because of all the hype I have seen on book blogs this last month. (I’m sure it has been popular year round, but I’m green when it comes to book blogs). I’m in the middle of November 9 right now and I just don’t understand why I have never read Colleen Hoover until now.

Plot per goodreads.com: “Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…”


Have you read any of these? Tell me what you think – whether it’s love, hate, or anything in between.

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday, #5

  1. I’m on the short list of people who have not read Colleen Hoover yet. And like you, I don’t understand why I haven’t yet! So glad to see you’re enjoying her now. I clearly need to jump on the bandwagon too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

