Stacking The Shelves, #4

stsmall_thumb25255b225255d

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga where bloggers share their enthusiasm for the books they bought or received during the previous week.

I’m a little late to the party – our internet is acting up today. I’ll visit other posts as soon as it’s steady.

This is my biggest book hall so far (new year, new challenges, renewed excitement)

 

Edelweiss

Down For The Count: Dirty Elections and the Rotten History of Democracy in America

I think it’s pretty obvious why I want to read Down For The Count: Dirty Elections and the Rotten History of Democracy in America by Andrew Gumbel and what the book entails. Also, and this is an assumption, but I’m looking forward to the author’s opinion given his background as a foreign correspondent.Everydata: The Misinformation Hidden in Little Data You Consume Every Day by John H. Johnson and Mike Gluck

Everydata: The Misinformation Hidden in Little Data You Consume Every Day by John H. Johnson and Mike Gluck appeals to the side of me that enjoys books like Freakonomics and Modern Romance. I think of the general as popular economics and I can’t wait to see what information and connections this book shares.

Killfile by Christopher FarnsworthAs soon as I read the plot summary for Christopher Farnsworth latest book Killfile, I was hooked. Killfile follows a private consultant who uses his ability to read (and partially control) minds to help the wealthy with their needs – whether it is retrieval of a hostage or protection of intellectual property. Also, his last name is Farnsworth. I know, I’m stupid, but apparently this matters to me subconsciously.Real Artists Have Day Jobs (And Other Awesome Things They Don't Teach You in School by Sara Benincasa

Real Artists Have Day Jobs (And Other Awesome Things They Don’t Teach You in School) by Sara Benincasa is another book I don’t really have to explain. Sometimes I fall into the mood where all I want is a little bit of a humorous spin on real life.

 

Netgalley

A Scone To Die For (Oxford Tearoom Mysteries, #1) by H.Y. Hanna

A Scone To Die For (Oxford Tearoom Mysteries, #1) by H.Y. Hanna is a cozy mystery centered on Gemma and her recently acquired tearoom. After a customer is found dead outside her tearoom, Gemma races to find the killer before her tearoom meets the same fate. skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_darkHidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes

Hidden Bodies (You #2) by Caroline Kepnes caught my eye with the antihero protagonist, Joe Goldberg. After Joe finds the love of his life, she disappears. Devastated, Joe follows her to Los Angeles and begins stalking her. A new love interest enters the picture, but is Joe ready to move on? (I didn’t realize this was a sequel until after being approved 😦 )Spoiler Alert: You're Gonna Die by Korttany Finn and Jacquie Purcell

I’ve been dying to start Spoiler Alert: You’re Gonna Die by Korttany Finn and Jacquie Purcell. I am being cruel and unusual to myself by trying to read and review the books coming out this month on Netgalley and Edelweiss when it’s this one I really want to read. Spoiler Alert is a nonfiction book that answers all of our questions about the end.The Cruelest Cut by Rick Reed

I can’t remember when I requested The Cruelest Cut by Rick Reed. It follows detective Jack Murphy through the hunt for a twisted serial killer. This cat and mouse game comes when the killer begins leaving nursery rhymes at the crime scenes.

 

Everything else

 

Work In Progress by YouTube sensation Connor Franta

Winner of 2015 goodreads Choice Award in the category of Memoir & Autobiography, Connor Franta shares “the lessons he has learned on his journey from small-town boy to Internet sensation so far” in A Work in Progress (cited from plot summary on goodreads). My goal this year is to read each winner. I wont lie, I don’t know who Connor Franta is, but I look forward to finding out. (I’m sure the boy knows. Gotta love getting old!)Blonde Hair, Blue Eyes by Karin Slaughter - Prequel to Pretty Girls

Blonde Hair, Blue Eyes by Karin Slaughter is the prequel to Pretty Girls. It follows the story of Julia, who is central to Pretty Girls despite the fact that she disappeared prior to its’ start. I picked up the audio book because I was very impressed with the speaker.

Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari and Eric KlienenbergI picked up (and finished) Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari and Eric Klinenberg this week. It’s a quick and interesting look at dating in the modern world – how we have changed the way we find life partners, how the emotional games we play actually work, and how internet dating services are best used as introductions. skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_dark

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, Illustrated by Jim Kay, and conceived by Siobhan DowdI read about A Monster Calls on Transhaan’s blog and knew I had to pick it up. (Okay, it’s true, a good part of my need is how wonderful Lashaan writes). After his mother begins her cancer treatments, Conor begins experiencing nightmares. A monster arrives wanting something from Conor: the truth. is written by Patrick Ness, illustrated by Jim Kay, and conceived by Siobhan Dowd.

November 9 by Colleen HooverNovember 9 by Colleen Hoover has captured my heart and refuses to let it go. Seriously. I have never read Hoover before, but she is on the fast track to becoming one of my favorite authors. November 9 follows two teenagers (Ben and Fallon) who meet and fall infatuated with each other the day before Fallon is set to move across country. The two opt to meet each other every November 9th until they turn 23 – the age in which Fallon feels that she will know herself well enough to truly love another. Witty banter, adorable interactions, and a hint of mystery fill this book. (I’m listening to this as an audio book at work and.. well… let’s just say it’s good that I don’t have too much going on right now because this book is very distracting.)

 

I cannot wait to see what every one else is reading this week! Apologies because I may not be able to connect until tomorrow or (worst case) Tuesday.

15 thoughts on “Stacking The Shelves, #4

  1. Thank you so much for the shout-out and the sweet, sweet compliment ! 😀 Your book haul looks like so much fun. If I was a little more tolerant (and maybe had a kindle device) I would probably make better use of our Edelweiss and Netgalley accounts. Enjoy your books and I hope you’ll enjoy A Monster Calls when you get around to reading it ! 😉

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I want to read A Monster Calls. I have a blogger friend who keeps urging me to read it. I love all of the mysteries that you have added this week and look forward to seeing what you think of some of them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

