Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

First published (in US): September 29th, 2015
Narrated By: Kathleen Early
Challenges Met:

My Rating: skull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_roses_avatar_by_kezzi_rose-d66jflvskull_and_darkskull_and_dark

25574782

BLUF: Pretty Girls a rough story: It is far more realistic than many I have read and it will stay with you (even if in a haunting manner) after you finish it.

Forewarning: I don’t know how to review this without giving anything away and I am sorry if this review reveals too much as is.

Plot: From start to finish, Pretty Girls brings together and tears apart a family. One deception after another is brought to light and you can’t help, but feel emotionally connected (and drained) for the sisters.

Thoughts: I have to hand it to Karin Slaughter: she holds nothing back when it comes the darkest parts of humanity. It’s impressive and a bit traumatizing.

After the first twist, Pretty Girls went exactly how I thought it would go up until it’s end. While I may not have been exactly spot on (can you be?), nothing read came as a shock. Imagine my surprise when I realized this “ending” hit halfway into the book. What else could this book offer? The complete and utter destruction of the sisters’ sanity.

I know I’ve said this already, but Karin Slaughter brings Pretty Girls across a line that many authors avoid. It’s brutal and will (should) make your stomach squirm. It’s a place I’ve never been to in a book (or real life, thankfully) and I don’t know how to feel about it.

Audiotape: I listed to Pretty Girls as an audiotape. I was hesitant at first with the narrator (I have a hard time with higher pitched voices), but she did a wonderful job. I look forward to listening to her narrations in the future.

Click here to view on Goodreads.com

3 thoughts on “Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

  1. I like a book that makes me squirm. Any author with the promise to make me feel something is worth a go in my book. I am actually relieved to see how much you liked this. I have had really high hopes and I was sad to have read a not so favorable review earlier today.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, talk about riding an emotional roller coaster before you begin the book. This is definitely one of those books that will be hard to judge off of others’ opinions.

      Personally, this is my first book from Slaughter and the way she writes pulls you forward. I don’t think I would have been able to stop reading even if I didn’t like it.

      I hope you enjoy it when you pick it up 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: A Week in Review #7, WWW #3 | Xxertz

Leave a Reply

