Stacking the Shelves, #3

stsmall_thumb25255b225255d

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga where bloggers share their enthusiasm for the books they bought or received during the previous week.

Woohoo! Welcome to 2016 and the start of 2016 Reading Challenges!

Netgalley ARC

26835271 I picked up Monsterland by Michael Phillip Cash this week. I read an ARC of his last year (Witches Protection Program). It was a cute, quick read so when I saw his name again on netgalley, I figured “why not?”. This book will count towards my 2016 Horror Reading Challenge.

Okay, okay.. I’ll be honest, once I saw the resemblance of the Monsterland gates to the Jurassic Park gates, I couldn’t resist. 😉

 

Everything else

15839976

 

Part of my goals this year is to read each of the 2015 GoodReads Choice Award winners. There are a few winners that aren’t the first in the series. Golden Son by Pierce Brown is second in the series so I picked up Red Rising this week. I’m also using this book to complete week 22’s goal of “the first book in a new to you series” in my Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge.

 

26158247I also picked up Dean Koontz’ Last Light novella (Ashley Bell, #0.1) this week. I wasn’t the biggest fan of Ashley Bell. As a general novel, I thought it was good, but as a Dean Koontz novel, I found it unsatisfying. That said… many of the other novellas I looked up were for series I was not interested in. I’m reading this for my Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge week 40, a novella from your favorite genre. (I plan on reading Final Hour (Ashley Bell, #0.2) for the same challenge’s week 51, a short story from a well-known author. I think it’s a technicality, but it’s listed as a short story on GoodReads, so I’ll take it.)

 

 

19 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves, #3

  1. I loved Monsterland and even did an interview with the author when it was released. He is super nice and ended up sending me a complete set of all of his books. I am doing the horror challenge too and just finished Stephen King’ s New book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s awesome! I read his Witches Protection Program and thought it was okay, but kind of weird with the father/daughter insta-relationship. I finished Monsterland early this morning (My dog trained me to wake up to re-cover him with his blanket T__T, I’m trying to train him that it’s not ok lol)

      I’m planning on reading Bazaar of Bad Dreams too this year! Although, I haven’t found a King book that has drawn me in yet 😦 Do you have any recommendations? (I gave up on IT about halfway through..)

      Like

Leave a Reply

