Top Ten Tuesday, #3

Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where each week bloggers are provided a different topic to write our a top ten list on. It’s a lot of fun to write and even more fun to visit others who have participated.

This week’s topic is Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The First Half of 2016

Either I am too new in the book world to know better, or I tend to look back and not forward (or both), but there aren’t any new books I look forward to or any authors I would be ecstatic for. Sad, I know. So.. I’m choosing my own topic.

My Choose/Cheater Topic: Top Ten Books I Wish The Boy Would Read (First five are ones from my childhood or my preference, second five are more his style.)

  1. Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
    What parent doesn’t want their kid to enjoy the same childhood series they adored at their age?
  2. Math Curse by Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith
    I loved this book at a kid. Ahh, the memories.
  3. The Mouse and the Motorcycle (Ralph S. Mouse, #1) by Beverly Clearly and Illustrated by Louis Darling and Tracy Dockray
    I don’t remember this one’s content, but I remember enjoying it. Plus, boys + motorcycle-riding anything = captured interest.
  4. The Hardy Boys Series by Franklin W. Dixon
    Detective books aren’t his style, but a girl can dream..
  5. Encyclopedia Brown Series by Donald J. Sobol
    See above šŸ˜‰
  6. The Everything Kids Science Experiment Book by Tom Robinson
    Not exactly a book we could sit down and read, but definitely something he would enjoy.
  7. TIME for Kids Big Book of WHO: 1,001 Amazing Facts! by Time for Kids Magazine
    This may be a good compromise between reading a full book and reading nothing. Reading a few each night would be a dream.
  8. Diary of a 6th Grade Ninja by Marcus Emerson, Illustrated by Sal Hunter and Noah Child
    He’s not a fiction reader, but hey.. ninjas? He might make an exception.
  9. Semper Fido by C. Alexander London
    Marines + Marines Dog = Winner, even if I had to sneak the fiction in there
  10. Max: Best Friend. Hero. Marine by Boaz Yakin, Jennifer Li Shotz, and Sheldon Lettich
    See above šŸ˜‰ This may not be the best book, but the recognizable name would pique his interest.

 

We don’t have the boy full time and that, combined with being a step-parent, means I don’t push him to read. For now, I can only hope and dream he will take more of an interest in it sooner than later.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday, #3

  1. This is a good list , I know I read the Hardy Boys as a kid (and reread a few recently- that was interesting!) and I recognize The Mouse and the Motorcycle too. Hope he finds what he likes, sometimes it takes a while. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am so afraid to revisit books from my childhood. I know it’s a silly fear, but I worry that I’m not going to like them (although, the nostalgia makes things better). Hey.. a while is better than never šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

