Top Ten Tuesdays #2 – Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year

Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where each week we are provided a different Top Ten list to write about. Last week was my first post and I cannot begin to explain how much fun I had! Not to mention, I discovered books that I had never heard of, but cannot wait to read. So.. Woohoo for week 2.

This week’s topic: Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year

  1. A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson
  2. World War Z by Max Brooks
  3. The Black Tongue by Marko Hautala (Translated by Jenni Salmi)

Okay, okay, so my list does not hit all ten. There are many books I am looking forward to reading, but only these three books have made it to my “must have physical copy” stage.

 

21I listened to A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson this year and I loved it. While reading the book, I constantly stopped to look up the facts and be in awe of the information they contained. The problem with me is that, despite furthering research, I tend to not retain information. I would adore having a copy of this book, not only for the hubby, but also so I can use it as a starting point for further research and, hopefully, be able to retain some of the information. (View on goodreads.com)

 

8908World War Z by Max Brooks is a historical account of World War Z. Crafted from real world accounts of existent wars, Brooks’ creates a realistic account of this fictional war. From the first time I saw this on the shelf in Barnes & Nobles (my teen hang-out spot) to now, this has to be one of my most favored books. I think it’s genius. I lost my copy between moves, although I suspect it has since been well-read by another so I cannot be too upset. (View on goodreads.com)

 

26129027The Black Tongue by Marko Hautala (Translated by Jenni Salmi) is my absolute favorite book I read this year. Known as the Finnish Stephen King, Hautala has captured my heart. I cannot wait until more of his novels become translated into English. (Note: I have this as a e-book, thanks to netgalley, but I would adore this as a physical book.) (View on goodreads.com)

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays #2 – Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year

Leave a Reply

