A Week In Review #2

What I’m reading:

22917

I’m still reading the Brothers Grimm’s Fairy Tales. I’m at 85%. On the plus side, I only have 15% left to go through. While I think this

collection is one huge WTF moment, I have to admit that the subject of original fairy tales has come up in conversations and I was able to enlighten a coworker/friend about the original fairy tales – which they took interest in. As much as I dislike the collection, it’s nice to know the history.

I just started China Lake by Meg Gardiner. Well.. Just started, but at 35%. It’s about a writer (both legal and fiction) who has been taking care of her 105735nephew while her brother was deployed (after his wife left him). Well, his wife is back in the picture, involved in a religious cult, and wants her son back despite having no legal custody.

I just got to the point where [spoiler: the leader of the religious cult is found murdered in the backyard of the brother and ] the cops are dead set against the woman and her brother (at every run in). Oh, and her brother and nephew are missing.

Overall, this book dedicates far too many pages to the preaching performed by the crazy religious folks. I mean, we get it, they are crazy. You really don’t need to reinforce it to the point where the reader has to start skipping pages to stay sane.

What I finished:

I would say it’s a week for so-so books, but goodread’s year summary came out and my average rating is 2.8. D’oh. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy my books, but I don’t usually have a strong feeling or connection.

August: Osage County by Tracy Letts was an interesting, but extremely dreary read.Osage I understand that this read a Pulitzer prize, a strong reflection of our social times, satirical in nature, yada yada yada, but it made for an extremely dreary read. Osage County did not have an overbearing amount of arguments, but it was focused on a highly dys

functional, self-destructive family. The characters didn’t grow much, they just were. Drama filled this book and the readers couldn’t find much satisfaction. I wasn’t impressed and, as much as I enjoy plays, I can’t imagine finding enjoyment in watching this one. Not a fan. star_png1597star_png1597star_png1578star_png1578star_png1578

I tried to listen to Fahrenheit 451 by Ray17470674 Bradbury a year or two ago, but I got so bored that I decided to move on before the third part. I’m happy I revisited this as an e-book this year, it’s easier to follow and much more enjoyable. (I skipped over one word sentences. Not sure why, but they

drive me crazy.)  This is a good read and powerful in its meaning. We too often seek happiness at the cost of knowledge. We are so in tune to our devices and disconnected from the world and each other that we fail to pay enough attention to what matters. star_png1597star_png1597star_png1597star_png1578star_png1578

280410I also finished The Nine: Inside the Secret World of the Supreme Court by Jeffrey Toobin this week. The book was filled with a very interesting history of certain Supreme Court eras as well as a personal look at the justices, including their fears and secret agendas. This book argues that O’Connor was the key player in the Supreme Court for a significant port

ion of her reign. Overall, this was entertaining, but  I don’t have the retention or understanding in politics enough to understand if this is well written/accurate or not. star_png1597star_png1597star_png1578star_png1578star_png1578

Speak No Evil (No Evil Trilogy #1) by Allison Brennan was off on a few levels. Speak No Evil follows a strong female detective who is on the hunt of a killer who viciously rapes and murders his victims. One of the major suspects’ sheriff brother comes to advise his brother and soon finds himself on the task force to find this killer. The duo use their gut reactions to 91378guide them towards finding their killer.

The biggest problem I have with this book is the ending: [spoiler: the strong, “don’t need a man in my life” main character does some incredibly puppy love bullcrap that no self-respecting, strongwoman would ever do.]. Other concerns I had were that the transition between characters was nonexistent. One line would be the detectives, the next would be the killer (on the exact same subject). It wasn’t smooth and it too me a few lines to understand that a change in POV had occurred. Lastly, and just a warning, the rapes were rather detailed and the whole lovey-dovey crap from the main character was also too much for me.

In the end, I would consider reading the next in the series someday, but not anytime soon. star_png1597star_png1597star_png1578star_png1578star_png1578

Reading Challenges:

I have only 3 books left until I complete the 2015 Popsugar Reading Challenge! Woohoo! (The two listed above and Apocalypse Idaho).

Leave a Reply

