Because it’s Thursday and I feel like rambling. (A Week in Review, #1)

Having a blog makes me feel like I should have something interesting to say. It’s hard coming to terms with the truth: I don’t have much to say. A blog is like a new friend. I don’t have much to share until I get to know you. Can you get to know a blog?

Anyways.. Here’s what is going on in my life.

What I’m reading:

280410 The Nine: Inside the Secret World of the Supreme Court gives exactly what its title suggests: an inside look into the Supreme Court Justices.

This book refers to the emotions of Justices often, which seems strange to me and I would like to see the interviews in which these emotions were discussed. Other than that, it’s been an interesting (dare I say enlightening?) journey through the Court and with the Justices.

I’m “reading” this one via audiobook. I find that it’s easier for me to listen to non-fiction than it is to read. Unfortunately, I don’t have the greatest retention method. I’m currently 66% done with this book.

17470674 Oh Mr. Bradbury and your Fahrenheit 451. This book and I had a hard time dealing with each other a few years ago. I listened to it via audiobook and did not enjoy the story at all. (The speaker’s voice was enjoyable, but something about this book is better read than listened to.)

It was a wise choice to revisit this book, although I feel that the majority of the story is going up and over my head. I can only assume the discussion to be raised is the fault in the idea that “ignorance is bliss”. Who knows, I’m only 51% done with this story.

Last, and definitely my least favorite, are the collection of fairy tales by the Brothers Grimm. Oh. My. Goodness. I hate this collection. I know I appreciated some of these stories, in some version or another, as a child, but I cannot stand reading them today. Many of these stories don’t have any point or real entertainment factor.

On the plus side, this collection has made me rethink books as a concept. Do any of them have, or even need, a point? Hmm… I just don’t get it. I am 56% done and will trudge through the rest…

Reading Challenges:

Believe it or not, I have only 8 books left until I complete the 2015 Popsugar Reading Challenge. My original goodreads goal for the year was 12 books. After I completed the 12, I upped it to 30. Now I am at 64 books completed (65 if you include reading half of IT, ugh, such a boring book). I can’t believe it! I am only 8 away from reading the 52 needed for this challenge.

Well.. I guess now is a good time to ramp it up for all of the challenges I am (super excited to be) participating in 2016.

The family:

We went to a new doctor yesterday and returned with promising news. Not only do they understand what Celiac Disease is, they absolutely confirm that the hubby has it. This is a clear step up from the local doctors who were hellbent on proving to him that he did not have it. In fact, they told him he should go back to eating gluten. (Ohh, I was pissed.) But hey, that was so last week.

He is going to have some cool (and some not so cool) tests performed in the near future as it seems one of his symptoms doesn’t quite correlate with the Celiac and they actually care enough to want to know what is causing this symptom.

I know the hubby can be.. a bit of an over-explainer, but it’s nice to have a doctor who has an interest in his well-being (not to mention, not giving crock advice like “go back to poisoning yourself and let’s see how that goes”.)

Whew.

Everything else:

There is nothing else! I love it when that happens.

 

2 thoughts on “Because it’s Thursday and I feel like rambling. (A Week in Review, #1)

  1. It’s true that having a blog isn’t always easy, and it’s a lot of work in the beginning to find your own, unique voice when it comes to how you want it to be 🙂
    I have changed mine quite a bit since I started, and that’s OK. We all change, right, Ashley?
    I’m glad you’ve been able to find some doctors who take your husband’s symptoms seriously enough to do more testing so that he will feel good 🙂
    Have a great weekend and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the kind words Lexxie! I appreciate it. I hope I can be as awesome as your blog someday!

      Thank you about the hubby too. He’s come a long way from original diagnosis, but has a bit of a journey to go before he feels normal again.

      Hope you have a great weekend too and, as always, happy reading!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

